December 7, 1929 & “Plea of the Maid”

Sat., 7  The morning devotions came to my room. They are such a comfort.

The final poem in Green Mountain Echoes.  Since Benjamin was in Italy during WWI and married Jeanette in 1920, I expect this poem was written in Jeanette’s voice.

PLEA OF THE MAID

My love is going across the sea,

He surely will come back to me.

Wish me joy, dear Mother, pray,

For this will be our wedding day.

 

His ship will sail, I know not when;

He’s going to be with Pershing’s men;

His ship will sail, I know not where,

They say he’s needed over there.

 

Dry your tears, dear Mother, pray,

And bless us on our wedding day.

This entry was posted in 1929 Ella's Diary, DIARIES, From the H. Sheldon Museum, Green Mountain Echoes, Poems and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.